Free Newsletter

Monthly archive February, 2012

Poetic Gut-Punch

Mary Oliver is a Pulitzer Prize winning poet.  She captures nature’s small, intimate happenings and lets herself—and the reader—be astonished over and over again by the mundane but glorious moments.  I discovered her work several months ago and have been Read More →

Solo Feats: The Real Fear

For those of you who didn’t check in last week, we’re discussing Felicity Aston’s solo crossing of Antarctica. To me, the bravest thing about Aston’s journey was her willingness to be on her own for so long.  The lack of Read More →

Solo Feats: Pointless or Inspirational?

Solo Antarctic Trek As most of us crumpled used wrapping paper into the trash, found batteries for the gadgets Santa left under the tree, and swept up glitter and pine needles, Felicity Aston slogged her way across Antarctica, becoming the first woman to Read More →

April 21: Pikes Peak Writers Conference

The 20th annual Pikes Peak Writers Conference will be held Friday, April 20 through Sunday, April 22, 2012 at the Marriott Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colorado. I’m slated for April 21. I’m excited about my workshop topic: Fooling the Reader Read More →

April 14: Mountain of Authors at PPLD

Drop in for this free event. Mountain of Authors is an annual community program that provides an opportunity for the public and local authors to meet and listen to notable Colorado authors, and for aspiring writers to learn more about Read More →

April 2: Auraria Writer’s Week

Metro State’s first annual Auraria Writer’s Week is a series of talks by major writers, each of whom will be reading from their work and discussing their ideas and craft. For this event I hearken back to my days as Read More →

Testimonials

DIE BUYING is one of the Top Four cozy mysteries of 2011.

- Suspense Magazine's Best of 2011

SWIFT JUSTICE has rapidly become my favorite new P.I. puzzler. It’s smart and sassy with tons of humor and a whole lot of heart.

- Chris Grabenstein, Anthony- and Agatha-award winning author

ALL SALES FATAL is a fun mystery!

- Kathy Blumenstock, The Washington Post

SWIFT JUSTICE may appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and Lula. DiSilverio deftly mixes light, zany humor with the darkness of the crimes.

- Booklist, Starred Review

QUICKSTEP TO MURDER and DIE BUYING are both in our Top 12 favorite mystery titles from 2011.

- Lisa Allmendinger, AnnArbor.com