Free Newsletter

Monthly archive March, 2015

Do You Read Sad Books?

Fault in Our Stars Late last year, I read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, a YA bestseller about a 16-year-old girl, Hazel, with terminal cancer and a 17-year-old boy, Augustus, who is in remission from osteosarcoma when the book opens.  (Don’t worry, Read More →

Titlemania

Titles Sometimes titles pop into an author’s head as a serendipitous gift, but more often they’re the product of trial and error, hard work, and conscious creativity.  Publishers occasionally tell an author what the title will be and then you’re stuck Read More →

The Readaholics Read The Maltese Falcon

Readaholics read the Maltese Falcon Part of the fun of writing a series about a mystery book club is selecting the books they get to read. For a variety of reasons, I decided that Amy-Faye and her friends would mostly read classic mysteries. Mainly, I Read More →

A Guide for Surviving Life with Teens

Messy Bathroom The word “teenager” comes from the Latin and means “a puddle of hormonally unbalanced moods, angst, disobedience, rolling eyes and sarcasm incapable of hanging up a single item of clothing or taking a shower that doesn’t drain Lake Superior.”  Latin Read More →

Testimonials

DIE BUYING is one of the Top Four cozy mysteries of 2011.

- Suspense Magazine's Best of 2011

SWIFT JUSTICE has rapidly become my favorite new P.I. puzzler. It’s smart and sassy with tons of humor and a whole lot of heart.

- Chris Grabenstein, Anthony- and Agatha-award winning author

ALL SALES FATAL is a fun mystery!

- Kathy Blumenstock, The Washington Post

SWIFT JUSTICE may appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and Lula. DiSilverio deftly mixes light, zany humor with the darkness of the crimes.

- Booklist, Starred Review

QUICKSTEP TO MURDER and DIE BUYING are both in our Top 12 favorite mystery titles from 2011.

- Lisa Allmendinger, AnnArbor.com