Free Newsletter

Posts tagged "Craft of Writing"

October 28 – 30: Writer’s Digest Novel Writing Conference, Los Angeles

In October, join me in Los Angeles at the  Writer’s Digest Novel Writing Conference. Their goal is to help everyone build a better book from the ground up, and I’m doing my part to help. I’ll be leading two sessions: Read More →

October 10: Bouchercon 2015 in Raleigh

Bouchercon 2015 Laura DiSilverio At Bouchercon 2015 in Raleigh, North Carolina, I’ll be participating in: “How Much Grit Do You Want in Your Mystery” Saturday, October 10, 2015, 8:30am Moderator Lise McClendon Laura DiSilverio Frankie Bailey Maggie King Lynn Cahoon   Read More →

Titlemania

Titles Sometimes titles pop into an author’s head as a serendipitous gift, but more often they’re the product of trial and error, hard work, and conscious creativity.  Publishers occasionally tell an author what the title will be and then you’re stuck Read More →

November 15: Bouchercon 2014 in Long Beach

Bouchercon Logo At Bouchercon 2014 in Long Beach, California, I’ll be participating in two panels. Moderating “From Government Work to Solving Crimes: Sleuths from Government Agencies” Saturday, November 15, 2014, 3-4 pm Moderator Laura DiSilverio Ben Coes Mike Lawson R.T. Lawton David Read More →

Writing Blog Hop

Catriona McPherson's The Day She Died Many thanks to the brilliant, funny and prolific Catriona McPherson for “tagging” me to participate in this blog hop. I was fascinated to read in her blog last Monday that our writing styles are similar—Stephen King-esque. What are you working Read More →

Mysteries: Hard-Boiled or Soft-Boiled?

Egg Market from Southern Writers Magazine Since I’m a mystery writer, my friends frequently ask me to recommend “good” mysteries for them to read. When I respond with, “What kind of mysteries do you like?” I sometimes get a blank stare. I list some of the Read More →

Testimonials

DIE BUYING is one of the Top Four cozy mysteries of 2011.

- Suspense Magazine's Best of 2011

SWIFT JUSTICE has rapidly become my favorite new P.I. puzzler. It’s smart and sassy with tons of humor and a whole lot of heart.

- Chris Grabenstein, Anthony- and Agatha-award winning author

ALL SALES FATAL is a fun mystery!

- Kathy Blumenstock, The Washington Post

SWIFT JUSTICE may appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and Lula. DiSilverio deftly mixes light, zany humor with the darkness of the crimes.

- Booklist, Starred Review

QUICKSTEP TO MURDER and DIE BUYING are both in our Top 12 favorite mystery titles from 2011.

- Lisa Allmendinger, AnnArbor.com