Free Newsletter

The Year of Living Courageously

… And Sat Down Beside Her

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about fear since I started this blog, as it is the emotion, usually, that necessitates courage. If we’re not afraid of something, we don’t need courage to do it. We might need resolve Read More →

Practice Random Acts of Courage: Read Books

Lolita I met Humbert Humbert this week. Those of you who know I have an Ivy league master’s in literature might be pardoned for wondering why I’d never met him before.  Who knows?  I’m sure it was my fault; I can’t Read More →

Waltzing with Imperfection

Ella Barrick Ballroom Dance Before Ballroom Dancing. Two little words that tend to get wildly different reactions from husbands and wives. Husband: “I’d rather have a root canal while watching a Desperate Housewives marathon.” Wife: “Oh, goody. Swishing around the floor in a ballgown, gliding, Read More →

Photo Not Available

Photo Not Available If you want a giggle today, let me tell you about my latest deliberate attempt to do something brave. The something brave was cutting my hair.  Yes, I know this is not on par with running for public office or Read More →

Courage in the Air

Since I decided to blog about courage in its myriad forms, it seems like people everywhere are talking about eschewing fear or having more courage. A friend of mine’s New Year’s resolution was “No fear!” and the columnist Maria Hinojosa Read More →

Poetic Gut-Punch

Mary Oliver is a Pulitzer Prize winning poet.  She captures nature’s small, intimate happenings and lets herself—and the reader—be astonished over and over again by the mundane but glorious moments.  I discovered her work several months ago and have been Read More →

Testimonials

DIE BUYING is one of the Top Four cozy mysteries of 2011.

- Suspense Magazine's Best of 2011

SWIFT JUSTICE has rapidly become my favorite new P.I. puzzler. It’s smart and sassy with tons of humor and a whole lot of heart.

- Chris Grabenstein, Anthony- and Agatha-award winning author

ALL SALES FATAL is a fun mystery!

- Kathy Blumenstock, The Washington Post

SWIFT JUSTICE may appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and Lula. DiSilverio deftly mixes light, zany humor with the darkness of the crimes.

- Booklist, Starred Review

QUICKSTEP TO MURDER and DIE BUYING are both in our Top 12 favorite mystery titles from 2011.

- Lisa Allmendinger, AnnArbor.com